Wednesday, May 27, 2020
search Commissioners Minutes


County Commissioners serve four-year terms. Commissioner District 1 is elected in November of the Gubernatorial Election years.  Commissioner Districts 2 and 3 are elected in November of the Presidential Election years. Commissioner terms begin the second Monday in January after the election.

District #1
Jim Daily, Commissioner
District #1 covers Center 1, Lexington, Liberty, and Sitka Precincts.

District #2
Charles McKinney
, Commissioner
District #2 covers Center 2 and Englewood Precincts.

District #3
Howard Wideman, Commissioner
District #3 covers Appleton Precinct.

Minimize Duties of the Commissioners
The Clark County Commissioners are vested by Kansas State Statute with both legislative and administrative powers and duties.
These powers and duties include:

  • Supervision of county property
  • Organization of townships following statutory procedures
  • Control of the financial affairs of the county
  • Approval of the annual budget
  • Levying of county taxes
  • Designation of depositories for the county treasurer
  • Construction and maintenance of county roads and bridges
  • Approval of land use and zoning policies for the county
  • Issuance of bonds
  • Awarding of contracts
  • Incorporation of cities
  • Creation of special districts
  • Setting of salaries of all county officials
  • Providing a jail, courthouse, office space, and supplies for all county officers and the district court
  • Appointment of members of various boards and commissions

Commission Meeting Dates  Contact Information
First & Third Wednesday of the Month      
Clark County Clerk's Office
(Dates Subject to Change)
Monday - Friday 

8:30 am - Noon & 1 pm - 4:30 pm 

9:30 am until finished
913 Highland

Ashland, KS  67831
Phone: (620) 635-2813
Clark County Courthouse
Fax: (620) 635-2051
913 Highland

Ashland, KS